About Us

ARGOS was formed in 1991 by the amalgamation of four local gymnastics clubs - Tauranga, Otumoetai, Te Puna and Mt Maunganui. The mission of the new ARGOS Gymnastic Club was to develop fundamentals, fun, fitness and friendship and to assist in the development of the whole person in order to assist them in the basic skills of life.

ARGOS stands for Artistic, Rhythmic, General Organisation of Sports. It is also the name of two Greek heroes, one a warrior showing strength and power (the gymnast) the other had 100 eyes (the coach!)

In November 1998 the club relocated to the building we are still in today on Koromiko St. We are the only fully set-up gymnastics centre in Tauranga and we are affiliated with GymnasticsNZ, our national sports organisation.

Today with over 500 gymnasts enrolled we provide classes in a variety of gymsports including preschool, recreation, trampoline, teen, rhythmic and competitive groups for girls and boys.

Our Vision is to "Move Grow Succeed"

All our wonderful coaches teach and encourage all members to achieve their best and reach their potential in whatever gymsport and at whatever level, ability or age they are. ARGOS employs Head Coaches to administer our excellent programmes and junior coaches attend xtnd courses for continued development.

Check out our Facebook page  https://www.facebook.com/argosgymsport/  - LIKE us and keep up to date with what is happening at ARGOS.

ARGOS coaches are committed to delivering quality sessions of gymnastics to your children.  Our coaches are professionally trained and accredited through the education pathway of our National Body - Gymnastics NZ.

Management Team

Amy O'Neil Centre Managermanager@argosgymsport.co.nz
Emma Dewhirst
Gymnastics Programme Managerheadcoach@argosgymsport.co.nz

Head Coaches

Pre School, Special Needs, Schools and Holiday Programme - Kirstin Stewart - preschool@argosgymsport.co.nz

Recreational Gymnastics - Valentina Vazzola - recreation@argosgymsport.co.nz

Women's Competitive (WAG) - Emma Dewhirst - headcoach@argosgymsport.co.nz

Men's Competitive (MAG) - Gavin Lodge - mag@argosgymsport.co.nz

Rhythmic Gymnastics - Elena McPherson - rhythmic@argosgymsport.co.nz

Trampoline - Sarah MacDuff - trampoline@argosgymsport.co.nz

Competitive Coaches - Emma / Gavin  / JaNyce / Sarah / Kodi / Tersea / Chelsea / Janelle / Naomi / Caitlin /Tommy / Hunter

Recreational Gymnastic Coaches - Caitlin / Hamish / Hunter / Kodi / Rebekka / Emma / Hannah / Tommy / Ryan / Kelly / Olivia / Ella

Our Committee

Donna Jarden - President

Vice Presidents - Shannon Hannah and Shane Eastergaard

Bona Park - Secretary

Debbie Hughes - Committee Member

Michelle Hodge - Committe Member

Chris Berriman - Committe Member

Helen Andrews - Committee Member

Kelly Hunt - Committee Member

Matt Golding - Committee Member

Emma Cronin - Committee Member