ARGOS was formed in 1991 by the amalgamation of four local gymnastics clubs - Tauranga, Otumoetai, Te Puna and Mt Maunganui. The mission of the new ARGOS Gymnastic Club was to develop fundamentals, fun, fitness and friendship and to assist in the development of the whole person in order to assist them in the basic skills of life.

ARGOS stands for Artistic, Rhythmic, General Organisation of Sports. It is also the name of two Greek heroes, one a warrior showing strength and power (the gymnast) the other had 100 eyes (the coach!)

In November 1998 the club relocated to the building we are still in today on Koromiko St. We are the only fully set-up gymnastics centre in Tauranga and we are affiliated with GymnasticsNZ, our national sports organisation. Today our enrolments exceed 700 gymnasts. We provide classes in a variety of gymsports including preschool, recreation, trampoline, teen, tumbling, Go Ninja, parkour and competitive groups for girls and boys.

We value diversity and work with the community to provide private and group lessons for gymnasts that are neurodiverse, blind low vision, hearing impaired, and physically disabled. We have partnered with the Child Development Service, Homeschool Bay of Plenty, Tauranga Special School, and BLENNZ to coach a range of ages and abilities whilst giving our coaches the opportunity to engage, learn and bring gymnastics into their world.

We are also very honoured to host the Schools Gymnastics Festival, AIMS Games and GFA in the Bay Gymnastics Competitions. We are rewarded by seeing the joy gymnastics brings to so many, the fun they have competing and the courage and bravery it takes to stay on that beam! Our community makes us, it directs us, and our passion lies with seeing so many fall in love with the sport. 

All our wonderful coaches teach and encourage all members to achieve their best and reach their potential in whatever gymsport and at whatever level, ability or age they are. ARGOS employs Head Coaches to administer our excellent programmes and junior coaches attend xtnd courses for continued development.


"My kids have absolutely adored gymnastics this term. They love their teacher, love feeling like they're learning something new and getting better...they love the atmosphere. Their only complaint is that they only go once a week lol" Trista - via email

"I’d also like to take a moment to really thank the recreational coaches and support staff – my daughter has had just the most wonderful experience since starting with the holiday program and then recreational classes. They make the sessions so much fun, are so supportive and show incredible patience whilst surrounded by 10 or so non-stop talking children. I don’t know how they do it! They have a wider impact on our children than simply learning gymnastics – they help us round them into better little humans too ?" - Louise via email

"Thank you to the girls who mademy daughter's birthday the best party to remember! She loved it! Even my parents were raving how good it was. And the girls had the best time ever.  So many compliments from the kids. Few now want to do it! Definitely recommend to others and we might host another another year." - Toni via email


Check out our social media pages for gym at home ideas and more:

ARGOS facebook page

ARGOS Instagram

ARGOS YouTube channel

LIKE & follow us and keep up to date with what is happening at ARGOS